Law Day 5K Run & Walk



Click below for sponsorship opportunities


Law Day Run Sponsor 2018

HELP PROVIDE LEGAL AID TO THE DISADVANTAGED: All event proceeds benefit “AND JUSTICE FOR ALL,” a collaboration of Utah’s primary providers of free civil legal aid programs for individuals and families struggling with poverty, discrimination, disability and violence in the home.

DATE: Saturday, May 5, 2018 at 8:00 a.m. Check-in and day-of race registration in front of the Law School from 7:00 – 7:45 a.m.

LOCATION: Race begins and ends in front of the new S. J. Quinney College of Law at the University of Utah just north of South Campus Drive (400 South) on University Street (about 1350 East).

PARKING: Parking available in Rice Eccles Stadium (451 S. 1400 E.). Or take TRAX!


For ADA accommodations contact 2018 Law Day Run at (801) 428-7031

USA TRACK & FIELD SANCTIONED COURSE: The course is a scenic route through the University of Utah campus. A copy of the course map is available here.

CHIP TIMING: Timing will be provided by Sports-Am electronic race monitoring. Each runner will be given an electronic chip to measure their exact start and finish time. Results will be posted on following the race.

RACE AWARDS: Prizes will be awarded to the top male and female winners of the race, the top male and female attorney winners of the race, and the top two winning speed teams. Medals will be awarded to the top three winners in every division, and the runner with the winning time in each division will receive two tickets to the Utah Arts Festival.

RECRUITER COMPETITION: It’s simple, the organization who recruits the most participants for the Run will be awarded possession of the Recruiter Trophy for one year and all participating recruiters are awarded a prize because success of the Law Day Run depends upon our recruiters! To become the 2015 “Team Recruiter Champion,” recruit the most registrants under your organization’s name. Be sure the Recruiting Organization is filled in on the registration form to get competition credit.

SPEED TEAM COMPETITION: Compete as a Speed Team by signing up five runners (with a minimum of two female racers) to compete together. All five finishing times will be totaled and the team with the fastest average time will be awarded possession of the Speed Team Trophy for one year. There is no limit to how many teams an organization can have, but a runner can participate on only one team. To register as a team, have all five runners fill in the same Speed Team name on the registration form.

SPEED INDIVIDUAL ATTORNEY COMPETITION: In addition to the overall top male and female race times recognized, the top male and female attorneys with the fastest race times will be recognized. To enter, an individual must fill in their State Bar number in the space provided.

BABY STROLLER DIVISION: To register you and your baby as a team, choose the Baby Stroller Division box on the online registration form. IMPORTANT: Baby Stroller entrants register only in the baby stroller division. Registration for the stroller pusher is the general race registration amount ($30 pre-registration, $35 day of). Simply add on $10 for each baby t-shirt that you want to receive (baby shirts for day-of registrants will be sent out later). Don’t forget to fill in a t-shirt size for both adult and baby.

WHEELCHAIR DIVISION: Wheelchair participants register and compete in the Wheel Chair Division. An award will be given to the top finisher.

“IN ABSENTIA” RUNNER DIVISION: If you can’t attend the day of the race, you can still register in the “In Absentia” Division and your t-shirt and participation packet will be sent to you after the race.

CHAISE LOUNGE DIVISION: Register in the Chaise Lounge Division. Bring your favorite lounge chair, don your t-shirt, and enjoy a morning snack while cheering on the runners and walkers as they cross the finish line!

Course Map

Media Contact Information

Kelly Striefel    Email:

Thanks to the 2016 LDR Sponsors!




In Kind Donations

Special thanks to our volunteer Law Day Run Committee: Bart Kunz (Chair), Metra Barton, Kimberly Blackburn, Sara Bouley, Kevin Glade, Chris Glauser, Lon Jenkins, Michael Karras, Charlotte Kiefer, Jon Love, Sean Miller, and Steven Paul, Kim Paulding & Rich Madsen  who are putting in long hours and hard work to make this event a success.

For an ADA accommodation, contact Kelly Striefel at 801-924-3182

This race wouldn’t be possible without our hard-working Recruiters! A huge thanks to:

Kacy Atkin

Reyes Aguilar

Katrina Anderson

Joan Andrews

Colleen Larkin Bell

Kim Blackburn

Jackie Bosshardt

Sara Bouley

Cynthia Breeze

Tracy Burke

Valerie Bushell

Scott Cheney

Amy Cassil

Tina Coates

Yvette Donosso

Ashley Eakins

Russel Evans

Fulvia Faatau

Fulvia Franco

Kaitlin Gibbs

Kristin Hughes

Nick Jackson

Bart Kunz

Joelle Kesler

Jon Love

Rebecca Mader

Carissa Marcum

Amber Mortensen

Andrea Mitton

Sean Miller

Gil Miller

Sara Lynn Olson

Sharon Ortega

Lou Paul

April Powell

Jackque Ramos

Lori Seppi

Nanci Shino

Summer Dawn Shumway

Ryan Warburton

Mary Westby

Anne Worthen